top of page



String sextets by Johannes Brahms 


1st Half

String sextet n1 in Bb Major, op.18

I. Allegro ma non troppo

II. Andante, ma moderato

III. Scherzo: Allegro molto

IV. Rondo: Poco allegretto e grazioso

​2nd Half

String sextet n2 in G Major, op.36

I. Allegro non troppo

II. Scherzo – Allegro non troppo – Presto

III. Adagio
IV. Poco allegro

Brahms' string sextets undoubtedly represent two of the works of chamber music. Through his sextets we can take a journey through Brahms' chamber production in the first half of his life. Two sublime works written for a  non excessively prolific formation to date and about the Brahms use to expand its options in the string formations. Both sextets are closely linked to the deepest feelings, and dedicated to the one who was his fiancé Agathe von Siebold. The first of his sextets, the Op.18, appeared in 1860, and the second one, Op.36, five years later. Both of them are works were among the most melodic and attractive of his entire production. The composer's personality is evidently reflected in his music, and is palpable from the first bars of his first sextet.

bottom of page